Home » A - Z Challenge » P-neumonia

P-neumonia

This is NOT one of my favorite things!!

P is for Pneumonia.

A year and a half ago, I became ill with what I thought was H1N1. All the media said to wait it out. Don’t go to the doctor so that you don’t share it with others. It was not fun and I didn’t want to share it, even with people that I didn’t like very much ☺.

Except that it was not H1N1. After six days and only feeling more and more sick, my daughter urged insisted forced me to go to the Emergency Room. And what did they tell me there (at first)? The flu? You just have to wait it out.

And then the doctor came in, listened to my lungs, and sent me to x-ray. When he came back he told us that I had pneumonia and I believe he said that he was very concerned and that I needed to be admitted. I wasn’t happy about that. But then I wasn’t happy. I was sick.

After a few days in the hospital and when I started not feeling worse (because, to be honest, I can’t say that I was starting to feel better, but I was improving), I convinced the doctor to let me go home. I recovered, but it took a very long time.

Why am I telling this story of a not favorite thing?

Because on Friday, I started feeling like I was coming down with the cold and cough that my husband was just getting over. By Saturday I started feeling like it was more than a cold and by Sunday I was sure of it. The symptoms were familiar and not in a friendly way.

I knew that I would feel foolish going to the doctor and being told that I just needed to give this cold a week or so, but I risked the embarrassment. I’m glad that I did. An x-ray showed that I do not have pneumonia but it is bronchitis which, the doctor informed me, would have progressed into pneumonia within the next day or two. I was given a breathing treatment and sent to pick up my antibiotics. I am on the mend. And I am so ready for spring!!!

There are those who say that once you’ve had pneumonia, you’re more susceptible to it. Both my own doctor and the pulmonologist that I had in the hospital told me that it’s not true, that it’s a matter of having a compromised immune system. After all, it’s been a year and a half since I had my first pneumonia experience with no recurrences. I think I’m just getting old. *sigh*

10 thoughts on “P-neumonia

  1. Good for you going to see about it. So often we "don't want to bother the doctor" and we let things go. I guess I should follow your example and go see the dr myself. Rats!!

  2. I'm prone to sinusitis and ear infections. Glad you went to the doctor. It was a smart move. Get better.Positive thoughts to you.

  3. I had Pnemonia quite a few times. I am just hoping that I am not a COPD patient. I wear sweaters and vests even when it is warmer for every one else. I am just happty that you took care of yours.Stay well:)

  4. Dear Laura, I know acute bronchitis well, having had a bout, which took 2 rounds of anti-biotics to get rid of. -sigh- Last 'cold' was also bronchitis, which also finally took anti-biotics of get rid of.Have never developed into Pneumonia though! Thankfully! I do not, not, not want that. But you are wise to deal with these things, quickly. Lots and lots of gentle hugs…

  5. I'm sorry you're sick, but I'm so glad you followed your instincts and went to the doctor. I had a bad case of bronchitis last year and know how miserable it can be. Take care of yourself, and I hope you're feeling better soon!

  6. I am so sorry. I am turning 62 this month, and aches and pains are more prevalent, for sure. It can't hurt to be too careful if you are susceptible or have a compromised immune system. Glad You listened to your intuition. Nice to have found you on the a-z challenge.Karen

  7. Boy, thank goodness you went to the doc's when you did, both times! Obviously, pneumonia's not something you want to take chances with, or even in your case, with the bronchitis.I'm so glad to hear that you're on antibiotics now and are starting to feel better. It's been such a long, hard winter on everyone this year it seems. Take care, Laura, and keep improving, k?

  8. Laura, glad to hear you are on the mend. Did you know there is a pneumonia vaccine? If you are prone to colds and bronchitis, you might want to think about getting the shot.MM the Queen of English(and giver of free medical advice with no medical training)

I would love to hear what you think!

