Home » A - Z Challenge » E-ggs

E-ggs

These are a few of my favorite things:

E is for Eggs

I like eggs. What can I say?
Poached, scrambled, hard-boiled. Yes, even fried. Dunker eggs please!
Don’t you think eggs are so versatile and full of protein too? And, although I know I’m not necessarily one to talk about eating healthy, I don’t think there’s anything wrong with eating eggs. Just don’t overdo it. Besides they come out with a study that eggs aren’t healthy and then they come out with another that they’re okay.

I think I know why I came up with Eggs for my E word.

I really want chickens. My husband doesn’t. I would win this battle, except his argument is a valid one. Between the dogs, who are really gentle, but wouldn’t understand that chickens aren’t to play with, and all of the wild critters that hang around in our woods, I know that it would be tough keeping a little flock of chickens safe. We used to have ducks and raccoons were a big problem. We tried many, and I mean many, ways to keep raccoons out and the raccoons always found a way in. And it’s not pretty…

We have a little house that was originally built as a duck house, then was used as a doghouse (and still is, when they feel like taking a nap there). The dogs could give it up. They don’t necessarily need a doghouse, although I like that they have someplace to go when they’re outside and no one’s home, if the weather turns bad. Plus, Jim seems to want to put the garden, that I told him I want to put in, right in what would be the fenced in chicken yard. Darn!

And how did this post about eggs turn into a post about chickens?

Chickens = Eggs. Nice fresh eggs. Everyday.

There’s still time to work on talking him into it. ☺

12 thoughts on “E-ggs

  1. I have a love/hate relationship with eggs/chickens. As a child on the farm, I had to collect the eggs from the chickens which included reaching under the hens while they peck at me. My most hated chore. However, fresh eggs are the best! There is no comparison.

  2. I would LOVE to have chickens, too–my best friend and I talk about it all the time, and have actually even looked up urban chicken coop kits. I'd definitely want ones that laid eggs in Easter colors. So pretty!We usually drive out to a dairy every week or so to get fresh milk in glass bottles and they have amazing jumbo eggs with bright yellow yolks that we love. The husband eats at least 4 poached eggs a day (and he's disgustingly fit) so we always get two packs of 20 when we go.

  3. My neighbor has chickens. And we live in the suburbs. She says they make wonderful pets, she taught a class on keeping chickens and I was thinking how fun that would be except we are moving to a low maintenance yard, no garden, no fruit trees, definitely no chickens!P.S. I love eggs, too! With grits!

  4. Hi,I just discovered your blog in the A to Z Challenge and I was charmed by your entries and your life. I love blogs where the topics are real life and ecclectic! I look forward to checking out your future postings.I can be found at:http://mynext20yearsofliving.blogspot.comMy blog is about my life as well, but more about what I am aiming for in the next 20 years. Right now I am very tied to the house, since I am the caregiver for my elderly mom – she lives with me. So I sort of live through others experiences (for now). ElaineRetired Knitter.

  5. I'm an egg girl too! In particular – coloured hard-boiled eggs which my mom always made for Easter. Maybe this year I'll surprise my mom and bring her a basket of coloured eggs!Those eggs, in your photo, are they colours a special way? They look so pretty – when I colour eggs it's always a disaster! (I should have paid attention when mom did them)Smiles from Jenny!

  6. I love eggs and chickens. If you come up with a way to keep the coons out, let me know…they and the hawks are the only reason I don't have a flock as well.

  7. I would love to have fresh eggs everyday. We have some friends who just got some chickens, so we'll see if they share! Thanks for stopping by my blog. I look forward to reading more from you.

  8. I would really love to have fresh eggs (my grandson actually needs them to stay alive…long story his body does not make cholesterol.So the chickens I would love it's the rooster that would drive me nuts those guys are really loud!

  9. We'd love to have chickens too. The idea of farm fresh eggs is really appealing to us. But right now, we live in a Township that doesn't allow farm animals unless you have a lot of property (which we don't). Someday…maybe…we'll get to be chicken owners. Maybe you will too! 🙂

I would love to hear what you think!

