Home » A - Z Challenge » A-ntiques

A-ntiques

These are a few of my favorite things:

A is for Antiques.

Last summer, my husband went to a Laura Ingalls Wilder conference with me. Yes, as a matter of fact, he is quite a guy.

I told him that he could choose whatever he wanted to do all the way home from Minnesota to Michigan. He decided that one of the things he wanted to do was to stop at antique stores as we happened by them. That was never something that interested me much, which is odd for someone like me who sometimes wishes she lived in the 19th century.

I very quickly discovered that I do LOVE antique stores! I love to pick things up and wonder where they’ve been and who used them and what life was like at that time.

I decided that I needed to make a decision about exactly what I wanted to collect. I had already collected some of the items that were used or talked about in the Little House books by Laura Ingalls Wilder and Jim had already bought me a pair of sheep shears at an antique store that he found in Mankato on one of the days of the conference where he went off wandering on his own. Remember Farmer Boy and Chapter 14: Sheep-shearing? Jim pays attention, plus he’s followed me around enough Laura Ingalls Wilder museums and homesites that he had no choice but to absorb some of the information. That’s one of the many things I love about him.

So, besides Laura Ingalls Wilder memorabilia, I fancied handkerchiefs and old photographs of children and babies. Both usually inexpensive and small enough not to have to take up much room. Mostly though, I love to wander and wonder.

I would love to collect more of these long white baby gowns. I ♥ them. Usually they’re out of my price range so I only own two of them…so far. ☺
2 thoughts on “A-ntiques

  1. My hubby & I aren't antique crazy, but we do love to stop into an antique store every now and again to check out all the old stuff. Many times, we are amazed at what's in the store and, like you said, wonder about the people who used the item, what it was used for, etc.You have a special hubby if he'll join you on these kinds of trips! Hope you continue to find items for your collections (whatever you decide they might be)!

I would love to hear what you think!

