Home » Memories » Music and Memories

Music and Memories

Did you ever hear a song that you hadn’t heard in years, that you had forgotten even existed, and instantly, you are taken back to a different place, a different time, a different you? I believe that music can bring back so many memories that you didn’t even remember. Quite often, something that would have remained buried except for hearing that song.

I love music, actually many different genres of music, except rap and hard, head-banging rock. Just can’t tolerate that. If you’re a fan fine for you, but I just can’t tolerate it…for many reasons. I liked classical music when I was very young. And I still do, actually. In fact, I remember the very first record album (yes I said record album ☺) that I ever received. It was a recording of The Nutcracker Suite and I listened to it a lot.

This is the very cover that I remember…I wish I still had the album.

There was a time in my childhood that I kept getting sick and had to visit our pediatrician more than I really wanted to. I remember that he often sang “Raindrops Keep Falling On My Head”, which was made famous by BJ Thomas. And that became a favorite of mine. I remember that my mom gave me one of those pull string music boxes that played “Raindrops Keep Falling On My Head”. It hung by my bed and I loved to listen to it over and over. Even now, over 40 years later, when I hear that song I think of Dr. DiMaso in his white lab coat, walking in the hallway outside the examining rooms singing or whistling that song.

There are so many songs like this in my life. Songs that take me right back to that place. There are those songs that remind me of my mom and those that remind me of my dad. Songs that remind me of being pregnant or being a young mom with my baby girl. Songs that remind me of springtime when my son was born. Songs that put me right back on early dates with my husband. ☺ All good memories. But of course, music isn’t there only to help us remember good times. There are many songs that make me sad. Or even mad, even though I’ve spent the last 25+ years trying to get over that.

My favorite music is what I would consider folk rock. James Taylor (my absolute favorite), Simon and Garfunkel, Carole King, early Elton John and Cat Stevens, Carly Simon, Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young. I could go on. This is what I loved in my early days of listening and this is what I still lean on. I’ve gone through so many music stages. There have been times when I’ve preferred to listen to rock or country, and sometimes still do, but I always go back to my original love of folk rock. The real troubadours!

Classical, folk, classic rock, country? It really just depends on my mood!

3 thoughts on “Music and Memories

  1. Songs are like that. They instantly transport you back in time. A lot of my memories are wrapped up around songs. Your favorite music is about the same as mine – 70's classics. Great stuff.

  2. My favorite record when in High School was Sheherazade by Rimsky-Korsakov. I played it while studying and had made up a story to go along with the music. I think the whole house was sick of it as I played it over and over. I love the way music takes you back in time.

  3. Music is a wonderful blessing. (I'm with you as far as disliking rap and hard-rock!) I love that certain songs can bring back such enjoyable memories.Hey, I love the more folksy music too! Those are some of my fav singers/groups also! I think I'd have to add Peter, Paul & Mary to your list. Do you like their music?

I would love to hear what you think!

