Home » Antiquing » Simple Sunday

Simple Sunday

Last year, when my husband introduced me to the world of antique shops and flea markets, I decided that, besides looking for items that were used/talked about in the Little House books by Laura Ingalls Wilder, I would collect things that were inexpensive and didn’t take up much space. I started picking up pretty or unusual handkerchiefs here and there. They are usually inexpensive and, unless I accumulate a lot of them, they really don’t take up a lot of space.

Early on, though (meaning last summer when this whole addiction began), I discovered old photographs and I was intrigued by them. I decided that I would collect photos of babies and children. There was something about them. They had a family out there somewhere, I would think. Great great (etc.) grandchildren maybe. How did they end up here, in an antique shop, abandoned by loved ones? I don’t know. I just wanted to bring them home and give them the respect that I felt they deserved.

I want to start sharing some of them with you!

I don’t usually look on ebay for old photos. They are quite often priced much higher than what I pay elsewhere. But one day I was looking and came across this one. It didn’t cost much and I was taken by the description…

The seller stated that this came from a photo album and in the margin of the album was written:
“Gilbert Smedrued children”
I have tried to figure out what the ages can be, especially of the three youngest. Wow! They must be really close in age. The Smedrued family must have been very busy!

*Remember! If you haven’t entered my maple syrup giveaway yet, you have until Thursday at midnight!

3 thoughts on “Simple Sunday

  1. What a neat idea. I too am intrigued by old photos and have often felt that they seemed "abandoned" and deserved more respect. Do you sometimes wonder if there are photos of your family floating around unidentified? I do, and it bothers me! So, thanks for sharing; I look forward to seeing these photos. Who knows…maybe someone will recognize someone sometime!

  2. What a precious photo. You always hear of little ones dying young in those days–like influenza… sure hope they all lived long lives. I also think about how on earth could these photos have been lost from the family… 'abandoned' like Mama Hen said. Sad.

  3. I took a closer look– yes, those infants are certainly close together in ages. Poor woman! Can you imagine the work she had to do each day? All the diapers, the crying, feeding, cooking… but the children are just precious to look at.

I would love to hear what you think!

