Home » Books » Reading for 2011

Reading for 2011

Reading has always been a big part of my life. I can remember going to the public library with my mom and picking out my books. My mom always checked out a big stack of books so I know where I got my love of reading. Library day at school was one of the days that I looked forward to most.
My first favorite that I can remember, when I was very little, was Raggedy Ann Stories by Johnny Gruelle. I can vividly recall being snuggled up next to my sister while she read the tales of my beloved Raggedy Ann. I still have that book.
When I started reading the Little House books by Laura Ingalls Wilder I can remember, like it was yesterday, racing to the section of the school library where her books lived so that I could check out one of her precious books. I was very shy and quiet, but one memory that has stayed with me, maybe because it was so out of character for me, was speaking up when one of the boys who knew that I loved those books got to the next book and checked it out so that I couldn’t. Now, I knew that he did not want that book. His friends made a point of gleefully telling me what he had done. And then I did something that shy and quiet little me never did.
I told on him.
I went right up to the school librarian and told on him! And, you know what? She made him give the book back so that I could check it out. No one was going to come between me and those Little House books!

Over the years, I’ve read many books. I can remember loving series books. You haven’t read much of my blog and not know that my favorite always and forever is Laura Ingalls Wilder’s Little House books. I remember reading about Cherry Ames by Helen Wells and Julie Tatham (which my mom also read when she was a young girl) and Sue Barton by Helen Dore Boylston (I wanted to be a nurse). I can remember reading Nancy Drew. I loved Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White. I still have the hardcover Trumpet of the Swan (also by E.B. White) that was a Christmas gift one year and Jonathan Livingston Seagull (by Richard Bach) from another year. Actually, receiving a book for my birthday or Christmas were some of my favorite gifts of all.
When I was a little older, I can remember sneaking one of my sister’s books to read…The Exorcist (I didn’t even try to find a picture of that book!). That was a mistake. I remember my mom catching me reading it and saying, “You shouldn’t be reading that!”, but she didn’t take it away. I had nightmares for a very long time.

Okay, you get the point. I’ve always loved to read.

Somewhere along the way, though, reading took a backseat. When my kids were growing up, I just simply did not have time. There were years that I finished only one or two books. I took to leaving a book in my car because the only time I would have time to read was while I was waiting for my kids to get out of whatever activity they were in at the time. Sometimes, I didn’t even have that luxury because I was also a professional volunteer 🙂 and was involved in what they were involved in.

So, those days are behind me and I have the time to read now. My younger one has been out of high school for over three years and our business is slower than it used to be (very slow right now). I certainly have time! I would probably go looking for a paying job if: there were any to be had for someone who has been out of the “out in the world” workforce for 22 years and if Jim wasn’t working alone. He needs a backup, even if it’s just me. I’m cheaper than hiring someone right now! 😉 So, here I am with time on my hands.

I joined a book club late last year. It was brand new and the majority of women wanted to form a mystery book club, but agreed to open it up to other genres. It doesn’t look to be going that way. Although I love a good mystery, I just don’t want to be tied to them. I haven’t left the group and, since January’s meeting was cancelled because of the weather, I have another month to decide. In the meantime, I decided to try forming my own book club. I posted it on facebook and sent out emails. It generated a little bit of interest, so I decided to schedule a meeting and that was last night. So, my daughter, my sister, my brother, and my sister-in-law met and, after much discussion and straying off topic, chose a book. We will be reading Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult. We went through quite a few book descriptions and finally agreed on this one. I’m pretty excited about it. We had all agreed that we would like to read some classics too, which is something that I really want to do. I do hope that the others are as excited as I am!

So, to make a long story longer :), I am going to be doing just a bit of book blogging here too. I am going to choose some (or all) of the books that I read and just do a quick summary (and my opinion) here. My goal is to read one book a week. Sadly, I’ve already failed there. I’ve only read one book so far, but I have started another, and have a couple that I started last year that I want to finish.
I would love to hear what you think!

