Home » Uncategorized » Ahh the memories…

Ahh the memories…

Who remembers every gift that they received for Christmas when they were growing up? Certainly not I.

Why am I thinking about Christmas gifts?

Because there was one Christmas when I was eleven and had, just that schoolyear, been introduced to the Little House books by Laura Ingalls Wilder. It was the beginning of a life-long obsession love. Thirty-nine years later, and I can still remember how I felt when I opened one of my gifts and this is what I saw…

Every time I look at that cover, it takes me back to the Christmas of 1971. Every time.
4 thoughts on “Ahh the memories…

  1. I'm a huge LIW fan myself and I've got all the books I read as a young girl and then I purchased all the books that they did with the drawings in color a few years back. She was a wonderful friend to open up and read about when I was growing up. I.Loved.Her. simply 🙂

  2. Laura, I still this book. I love all the Laura books, but this one is my favorite. Did you know that her daughter Rose Wilder Lane wrote a book about her own life? Can't remember the name; but if you're interested, I will check it at my library.

  3. hi laura,i love, love, looove the little house books and laura ingalls wilder! i don't have the books but i think i need them! i still watch little house whenever i can! love it! there is a little house pageant in desmet, sd every summer portraying one of the books done by the locals. it's great! the ingalls lived in/near desmet for awhile so there's lots of little house things in desmet! happy day!peggyp.s. i didn't do really well at the craft fair except that my popcorn balls were a big hit! that's ok tho! i'll keep creating and crafting!

I would love to hear what you think!

